Since 2015, Vera Wah never finished outside the top three at the National Schools Cross Country Championship. Every time she made a run for the title, new rivals rose to the challenge.

On Wednesday morning at Bedok Reservoir, well after 9 am under a blistering sun, Wah broke the tape first in the  ‘A’ Division. She’d finally broken the curse.

Wah earned double honours as Hwa Chong Institution won the team title for the third year running. Hwa Chong’s 1-2-4-5 dominant finish totalled 12 points, far ahead of runner-up Raffles Institution.

“It’s very heartwarming to see your hard work and effort come together,” she said.

Wah felt “surprisingly calm” as the day started, which she attributed to better stress management as she collected race experience. Having completed her track season, which was pushed a month earlier this year, this was her final race for the school. (Cross country is usually held before track and field season begins.)

“It wasn’t about me, it was about the team. But I also wanted to do well,” said Wah, who picked up gold in the 1,500m and silver in the 800m at last month’s National Schools Track and Field Championship.

Wah ran the first half of the race with teammate Clarice Lau, who she first acquainted with four years ago through the running scene. Shortly before the halfway mark, Wah picked up the pace and never looked back as she established an insurmountable gap. Lau, the 3,000m and 2,000m steeplechase champion at the track and field championship, placed second.

Ethan Yan claimed the title in his final National Schools Cross Country appearance. (Jing Zhi Chua)

5,000m champion Ethan Yan made it a distance double as he added his first cross country title to his résumé, an improvement on last year’s fourth place. This is his final race for the regular school season as well.

Despite a season of ups and downs, as Yan calls it, he was contented with the day’s results.

“We are stronger than we believe we are,” said Yan, who referenced marathon world record holder Eliud Kipchoge’s tagline “No human is limited.”

Claudia Tang continued her cross country winning streak as she emerged the champion in her ‘B’ Division debut. Methodist Girls’ School reemerged with a bang as they completed a double sweep of the ‘C’ and ‘B’ Division titles, the first in their school history. The last time they won was the 2013 ‘C’ Division title.

‘A’ Division Girls Individual Results (full results)

1st Vera Wah Yi Rei (Hwa Chong Institution) – 15m21s

2nd Clarice Lau Jia Yun (Hwa Chong Institution) – 16m02s

3rd Chua Hsi-Ern Caylee (Anglo Chinese Junior College) – 16m13s

4th Jolene Tan Yong Xin (Hwa Chong Institution) – 16m15s

5th Toh Pei Xuan (Hwa Chong Institution) – 16m16s

6th Lim Zhi Xuan (Raffles Institution) – 16m19s

7th Ng Yu Ching (National Junior College) – 16m45s

8th Xu Ziqian (Raffles Institution) – 16m52s

9th Charmaine Sew Fan Ning (Victoria Junior College) – 17m09s

10th Shawna Tay Le Xuan (Hwa Chong Institution) – 17m11s

11th Lim Xin Hui (Raffles Institution) – 17m13s

12th Wong Wai Lin Amanda (Victoria Junior College) – 17m16s

13th Tey Chu Yi (Victoria Junior College) – 17m19s

14th Tan Hwee Min Shirley (National Junior College) – 17m21s

15th Charlene Lim Siow Ching (Hwa Chong Institution) – 17m21s

16th Cheyenne Low Xinyi (National Junior College) – 17m31s

17th Yeo Wen Yu Rebecca (Raffles Institution) – 17m33s

18th Patrice Tan Chin Sim (Raffles Institution) – 17m35s

19th Ang Jia Yi (Victoria Junior College) – 17m44s

20th Sum Ming Jie Ursula (Catholic Junior College) – 17m52s

‘A’ Division Girls Team Results (full results)

1st Hwa Chong Institution – 12 pts

2nd Raffles Institution – 42 pts

3rd Victoria Junior College – 53 pts

‘A’ Division Boys Individual Results (full results)

1st Ethan Yan Yikai (Hwa Chong Institution) – 15min59s

2nd Joshua Rajendran (Hwa Chong Institution) – 16m23s

3rd Dave Tung Kin Pang (Hwa Chong Institution) – 16m32s

4th Armand Dhilawala Mohan (Raffles Institution) – 16m43s

5th Nedunchezian Selvageethan (Raffles Institution) – 16m49s

6th Joshua Yong Zhi Hao (Raffles Institution) – 16m51s

7th Rajesh Muthu S/O Ramanathan (Anglo Chinese School (Independent)) – 16m53s

8th Vellaichamy Karnan Tharun (Hua Yi Secondary School) – 17m02s

9th Zechariah Low (St. Andrews Junior College) – 17m04s

10th Tan Jian Wei (Raffles Institution) – 17m04s

11th Chua Yi Ethan (Anglo Chinese School (Independent)) – 17m05s

12th James Chin Dow Ching (National Junior College) – 17m07s

13th Lai Ziqing George (Hwa Chong Institution) – 17m11s

14th Ng Jing Heng (Yishun Innova Junior College) – 17m19s

15th Aravinthan S/O Ilangoh (Victoria Junior College) – 17m22s

16th Ong Ee Howe (Anglo Chinese Junior College) – 17m22s

17th Lin Jing Chao (River Valley High School) – 17m23s

18th Darren Tan Chongming (Yishun Innova Junior College) – 17m23s

19th Nicholas Ho (Victoria Junior College) – 17m24s

20th Aldrich Goh (Millenia Institute) – 17m28s

‘A’ Division Boys Team Results (full results)

1st Hwa Chong Institution – 19 pts

2nd Raffles Institution – 25 pts

3rd Anglo Chinese School (Independent) – 80 pts

‘B’ Division Girls Individual Results (full results)

1st Claudia Tang Ning Xuan (Cedar Girls’ Secondary School) – 15m54s

2nd Alyssa Yeong Xin Yi (North Vista Secondary School) – 16m05s

3rd Enastasia Koh Ye (Dunman High School) – 16m15s

‘B’ Division Girls Team Results (full results)

1st Methodist Girls’ School (Secondary) – 44 pts

2nd Cedar Girls’ Secondary School – 49 pts

3rd Raffles Girls’ Secondary School – 75 pts

‘B’ Division Boys Individual | Team Results

‘C’ Division Girls Individual | Team Results

‘C’ Division Boys Individual | Team Results